• History

      Among the cities around Taihu Lake, Huzhou is the only one that is named after the water of the lake. Huzhou has a history of over 2,300 years. It was first named Gucheng when it was built as a prefecture in 248 B.C. and renamed Huzhou in 602 A.D. for its location by Taihu Lake. During the period after the liberation of our country, Huzhou was headquartered in the first special district of Zhejiang Province, Jiaxing Special District, and then Jiaxing District. In the October of 1983, Jiaxing District was divided into two administrative regions: Huzhou City and Jiaxing City.

  • Main Attractions

    ■ Nanxun Ancient Town

        Nanxun Ancient Town  was a famous silk town in Jiangnan, with abundant cultural resources and a blend of Chinese and Western architecture.


    ■ Mogan Mountain

        Mogan Mountain is well-known for its 'three charms' - bamboo, clouds, and spring.


    ■ Longwang Mountain

        Longwang Mountain boasts the highest peak in northern Zhejiang province and the Yangtze River Delta region.


  Located in the center of the Yangtze River Delta, Huzhou serves as the hinterland of Shanghai, Hangzhou and Nanjing, three mega cities in this area, as well as a major node city connecting the southern and northern parts of the Yangtze River Delta and linking Eastern and Central China. The following are the main transportation routes passing through Huzhou.


■ Railway transportation

 Nanjing-Hangzhou High-Speed Railway, Shangqiu-Hefei-Hangzhou High-Speed Railway, Xinyi-Changxing Railway and Xuancheng-Hangzhou Railway all run through Huzhou.


■ Expressway transportation

 G25 Changchun-Shenzhen (Hangzhou-Nanjing section) Expressway, G50 Shanghai-Chongqing Expressway (Shanghai-Jiangsu-Zhejiang-Anhui section), S12 Shanghai-Jiaxing-Huzhou Expressway, S13 Lianshi-Hangzhou Expressway S14 Hangzhou-Changxing Expressway, and No. 104 and No. 318 Highway.


■ Water transportation

 Changxing-Huzhou-Shanghai Canal and Beijing-Hangzhou Canal.